Not even a month ago, L.R.O. messaged me about a friend who was looking for someone to cat-sit for them … in Paris. Since I went out on my own two years ago, I’ve thought about working remotely, getting out of the heat of the sandbox summer. And, now, I had an opportunity to do so. M.L. said he “smelled a scam. But a glorious one.” I have to say, he’s right.

My charge is glorious, a Maine Coon cat named Mimi. A French kitty with American roots! Her home is a tiny place in the 8th arrondisement, near Etoiles. Back in college and shortly thereafter, when I was trying to figure out a way to get a job in Paris so I could live here, this was exactly the sort of place I’d imagined I would live in. It’s been more than a decade since I’ve spent any time longer than a layover here so I’m loving becoming reacquainted with my first urban love.

Each day, I write and edit beside a tall, Haussmannian-style window, open to let in the cool breeze. After years in the sandbox, it is so nice to be able to keep the windows open day and night. As the beautiful morning light fades into evening, J.B. and I ponder our dinner options. (You didn’t think the traveling stagiare would not take advantage of my stay in Paris, did you?)

Yes, many places are closed this month, the traditional time when Parisians go on holiday. Fermé hangs on the door of many big culinary names here. But there are plenty of places open and I’m looking forward to exploring ethnic Paris and her offerings. And away from the most touristic areas – though I will no doubt go there, too – Paris’ streets are fairly empty, giving you the impression that the city is only for you.

