One of the things that attracted me to moving to the Gulf is its proximity to a lot of places in Africa and Asia. What would be day-long treks across the globe from Texas are now short flights. JM suggested we take advantage of a sale at Fly Dubai, the low-cost carrier here, and go out for three days. I have to admit, at first I said I couldn’t do it. I was concerned about just taking off and leaving work aside for a few days. I have just started freelancing. But then I realized that I could still make my deadlines and that having this sort of flexibility was why I went out on my own in the first place.

Sri Lanka, just recently out of a decades long war, is a beautiful place and still largely unspoiled by commercial tourism. I’m already plotting on how to get back there. … And the food is awesome! If you go, be sure to have dinner at 1864 at the Galle Face Hotel in Colombo. This hotel restaurant puts any in Dubai to shame.

