One of the best things about being an expat is getting to come home again. Don’t get me wrong. Expat life in invigorating, infuriating, interesting and mind-numbing: all the emotions you’d expect to feel uprooting and replanting yourself in such fashion.

I’ve learned a lot and met a lot of people in the last year living in the UAE. I hope to have added to a group of lifelong friends and memories that I will carry with me no matter where I go.

The last week in Houston has flown by in a flurry of shopping trips and errands that I wanted to run while I was in the US. I’ve spent precious time with Mom and Dad – I’m the child who has always lived away from home – and had fun with Aashish, Roseann and, of course, Nikhil. No matter where I go in the world, they are the ones on my mind, the people for whom these stories are always told.

I go up to Dallas tomorrow to see friends there and am excited about a quick overnight to Philly on NYE to celebrate the wedding of Jim MacMillan and Kathy Matheson. I’m Dubai-bound once more on the 2nd. (Anyone have a contact at Emirates for an upgrade?)

I hope you and all you love are having a wonderful holiday. Thanks for being so supportive of me and for reading my blog. My love and blessings to you in 2010.

My nephew, Nikhil, in a rare moment when he wasn't sneaking around trying to open gifts.

